Town Council Election March 17


Deadlines Approach

Thinking about running for a seat on the Fort Myers Beach Town Council? There are some deadlines approaching, with one of them just two weeks away on December 9, 2019.

There will be three council seats on the ballot on March 17, seats 3, 4 & 5, currently held by Bruce Butcher, Anita Cereceda and Joanne Shamp. Cereceda is completing her second consecutive term, so she is term-limited. Shamp and Butcher have indicated that they will not run. As of November 21, Dan Allers and James Atterholt have opened a campaign file for this election.

Beach voters will weigh in on two Town Charter amendments regarding town elections. One will ask if town elections should be moved from March to November to coincide with state and national elections. A second question on the ballot would extend council terms from three to four years. If both are approved, the switch would save the Town about $15,000 each election cycle.


A candidate for Town Council must be a resident of the town, a registered voter and have lived within the town for at least one year prior to qualifying for election. The first step to qualifying is to open a campaign file with Town Clerk Michelle Mayher. Next a a campaign treasurer and account must be designated. That must be done before accepting any petition signatures, contributions or making any campaign expenditures.

Anyone wishing to qualify for election via petition, has until noon, Monday, December 9, 2019 to collect and submit 49 signatures of registered Fort Myers Beach voters to the Lee  County Supervisor of Elections for verification. Verification costs ten cents per signature.

Pre-qualifying begins December 23, with qualifying week running from noon Monday, January 6 to noon Friday, January 10. By close of qualifying week, candidates must have all required forms and payments submitted. Complete details on forms, requirements and deadlines are available on the Town Clerk’s page under Departments at or via this link:


To vote in Fort Myers Beach elections on March 17, 2020, voters must be registered with the Lee County Elections Office by Tuesday, February 18, 2020. For more information, see