Special Districts on Ballot


Qualifying Dates Near

While the November 3 General Election is more than five months away, the deadline to run for local office is less than a month away are fast approaching for a number of local offices. There are eight seats up for election on three Special Districts that include the island.

Fort Myers Beach Special Districts

The Fort Myers Beach Mosquito Control Board, a three-member board, has two seats on the ballot in 2020: Seat 2, currently held by Joanne Semmer and Seat 3, now held by William Semmer. Mosquito Board members are paid an annual salary of $4,800.

The Fort Myers Beach Library Board, a seven-member board, has three seats on the ballot: Seat 5, now held by Sallie Seabury and Seat 6, now held by Rick Sebastian. Seat 7 is currently vacant. Library Board members are not paid.

The Fort Myers Beach Fire Control District Board, a five-member board, has three seats up for election this November: Seat 2 currently held by Ron Fleming; Seat 4 held by Larry Wood and Seat 1 which is now vacant. Fire Board members are paid $6,000 annually.

The qualifying period for all special district board seats is from noon, June 8 to noon, June 12, 2020. Pre-qualifying begins May 25, 2020. Special District elections are non-partisan. Candidates run for a specific seat on each board and are required to pay a $25 filing fee. All candidates must file multiple forms with the Lee County Elections Office prior to the qualifying deadline to be placed on the ballot.

Anyone interested in running for a special district office should contact the Lee Elections office at 239-LEE-VOTE or visit lee.vote.

Lee County Races

The Lee County Board of Commissioners has three of the BOCC’s five seats on the ballot this year: District 1 seat, now held by John Manning, District 3 seat, held by Ray Sandelli, and the District 5 seat held by Frank Mann. Voters in Lee County vote for all district commissioners.

The Lee County constitutional officers will all be on the ballot this year: Sheriff, Clerk of Court, Property Appraiser, Elections Supervisor and Tax Collector.

The Lee County School Board has three seats up for grabs for District 2, District 3 and the at-large District 7. Island voters will be able to vote only for the District 3 seat and the at-large District 7 seat in this non-partisan election.

The Lee Memorial Health System Board of Directors will have two seats in each of three districts (1, 3 & 5) on the ballot in 2020. The Lee Health Board is a non-partisan race.

Election Dates

The Primary Election will be held Tuesday, August 18, 2020. Florida is a closed primary election state. If you want to vote in a partisan primary, you must be a member of the political party holding the primary. However, there will be races for non-partisan offices on the August 18 ballot and ALL VOTERS, including those without any party affiliation, vote in those races. The deadline to change your party affiliation or register to vote in the primary election is July 20, 2020.

The General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 3, 2020. The deadline to register, if you are not already registered, is October 5, 2020.

The Lee County Supervisor of Elections, Tommy Doyle, is encouraging all voters to sign up for a Vote-by-Mail ballot, for both upcoming elections. To do so, just call the Lee Elections office at 239-533-8683, visit lee.vote or email votebymail@lee.vote.