Nominations Sought For Outstanding Citizen


Know anyone deserving of recognition? The Community Resources Advisory Board (CRAB) is actively seeking nominations for the Town’s Outstanding Citizen Recognition program – which is designed to recognize, on an annual basis, an outstanding citizen who has made an exceptional contribution to our Town.

The Outstanding Citizen Program has been on hiatus lately due to the lack of nominations but was recently revised by CRAB members after Council asked them to simplify it a bit. Previous awards recognized residents in a variety of categories and included a number of criteria. The program will honor one full time or part time resident who has been living in the municipal limits of Fort Myers Beach for at least 3 years.

In selecting the Outstanding Citizen Award recipient, the Town Council will consider the following: how the nominee has enhanced the name of the community through positive exposure and/or what exceptional contribution the nominee has made to the community.

Nomination forms are available at Town Hall or at, under the ‘For Islanders’ tab. For future awards, all nominations must be received by December 15th, but to get the program started up again Council agreed to allow nominations for the 2016 Citizen of Distinction to be open until February 1st.

All nominations need to be submitted to: Town Manager, Town of Fort Myers Beach, 2523 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931. Please attach a statement specifying why the nominee should be recognized. Information should include the nominee’s history/background, achievements, contribution to the community and details on how they have brought recognition to the Town of Fort Myers Beach. A maximum of 5 pages of supporting material may be included.

Once all the nominations are received, the Town Manager will forward them to Council who will make a selection and honor that person during a meeting in March with a presentation from Mayor Anita Cereceda and a small engraved plaque placed at Town Hall.

Keri Hendry Weeg

Vice-Chair, Community Resources Advisory Board