On February 27, 2016, twenty-six members of the Fort Myers Beach Yacht Club came by boat and car to tour Fort Myers Beach’s Mound House, a unique archaeological and historical site located on Estero Bay.
After the tours, a picnic was held on their beautiful grounds overlooking Estero Bay. A financial donation was then presented to Mound House Museum Director Alison Giesen for the benefit of the non-profit Mound House. A banner was also donated which reads “It is with knowledge of the past that we better understand the present and plan for the future”.
Pictured here in the first two rows of attendees at the banner presentation are, from left: event hosts Tim & Bonnie McClure, Commodore Patty Korn, Museum Director Alison Giesen, host Kelly Gartner, Vice Commodore Rosemary Davidson, Treasurer Jack Dorn, event hosts Margaret Schmidt & Art Holzer and Jean & Chris Christensen.
After the picnic, four yacht club boats, captained by club members Art Holzer, Pete Oiderma, Jack Dorn and Chris Christensen, shuttled the attendees to Dog Key, which is a five-acre island in Hell Peckney Bay – across from Snook Bight Marina. Dog Key is where the Fort Myers Beach Yacht Club had its clubhouse, cistern, goat pen and pier from 1958 to 1970. They rented the island from the state of Florida for $25/year. Most current members had never before been to their “roots,” which made this excursion an exciting “voyage of rediscovery.”
Estero Island’s oldest standing structure at Mound House has recently been restored to its 1921 splendor and is now open as a cultural and environmental learning center. Experience this one of a kind museum that sits atop a 2,000 year old Calusa Indian Shell Mound. The Mound House offers a variety of group tours and programming for local residents, visitors and school groups. The museum is located at 451 Connecticut Street, Fort Myers Beach and offers site rentals, memberships, kayak eco-tours and other special programs. For more information call 239-765-0865 or visit www.moundhouse.org.
The Ft Myers Beach Yacht Club was formed in 1953 and incorporated as a not-for-profit organization for the purpose of promoting safe, enjoyable boating and good fellowship. This community-oriented club, with over 100 members and 40 boats, maintains a very active schedule of year-round activities, both on and off the water, for members and guests. Evening meetings are held once a month – usually on the 4th Wednesday at the American Legion Post 274 on San Carlos Island. You can learn more about the club from their web site at FMBYachtClub.org or call Membership Chairperson Pete Oiderma at 239-463-6240 or cell: 415-328-5415.