Council Ballot Set, Four Candidates for Two Seats


The Fort Myers Beach Town Council March 5, 2019 election for two seats will have four candidates on the ballot: Dan Allers, Dennis Boback, Rexann Hosafros and Ray Murphy.

The qualifying period ended at noon, Friday, January 18. Boback tossed his hat in the ring this week. Murphy and Allers announced their candidacy in October and Hosafros did so in November, well before this week’s qualifying period. All three early candidates collected petitions to waive a portion of the qualifying fee.

Dan Allers is a member of the Bay Oaks Recreation Center Advisory Board (BORCAB) but has never run for council before. Dennis Boback is a current Town Council member and also served a council term beginning in 2005. Rexann Hosafros and Ray Murphy have also both served on Town Council.

To date there is one candidate forum planned on February 11 by the Estero Island Taxpayers Association at Beach Baptist Church.

On March 5, 2019, Fort Myers Beach voters will be asked to vote for two candidates on the ballot in this non-partisan election. The two candidates with the most votes will win the two seats on Town Council. Council members serve a three year term and are limited to serving two full three year terms consecutively.

To vote in the March 5 election, Fort Myers Beach voters must be registered by Monday, February 4. To register, change your registration or request a Vote-by-Mail ballot, visit or call 239-LEE-VOTE (239-533-8683).

The Island Sand Paper will provide readers the opportunity to learn about the four candidates by covering candidate forums and offering all candidates the opportunity to announce their candidacy, if they have not yet done so, as well as provide a Guest Opinion and answer “Ask the Candidate” questions. A copy of the Island Sand Paper’s Campaign Policy is available by emailing All candidates have been sent a copy of our policy using the email they provided to the Town Clerk.


By Missy Layfield