Butcher, Cereceda & Shamp Win


Fort Myers Beach Town Council

Following Tuesday’s Town Council election, there will be one new member on the dais when Council meets next on March 20, 2017.

Voters in the Town of Fort Myers Beach elected Bruce Butcher with 25.24% of the vote, Anita Cereceda with 24.29% and Joanne Shamp with 23.86%.

Preliminary vote totals Tuesday evening were: Butcher 1,306, Cereceda 1257, Shamp 1235, Forrest Critser 849 (16.41%) and Ber Stevenson 528 (10.2%). The official results will be certified on Friday, March 10, 2017.

Bruce Butcher was elected to his first term on council. He is a retired businessman with experience in business management and has served the community on a variety of volunteer advisory groups, both on and off island, including the Public Safety Committee, Ad Hoc Committee for Downtown Redevelopment, Local Planning Agency, BikeWalkLee and Citizens Advisory Committee for the Lee Metropolitan Planning Organization.

Anita Cereceda was elected to her second recent term on council. She served on the town’s first council after incorporation as Mayor and then ran again in March 2014 and was elected. The owner of two businesses in Time Square, she has served as Mayor multiple times over her previous terms on council. Due to term limits she will not be eligible to run again for council in 2020.

Joanne Shamp was elected to her first full term. She was appointed in November 2016 to fill an unexpired term. Shamp is a retired business owner who has served on several Town advisory committees prior to her appointment to council, including Local Planning Agency, Historic Preservation Board, Historic Advisory Committee and Marine Resources Task Force. She will be eligible for a second full term if she chooses to run in 2020.

The newly elected council members will be sworn in at the next Town Council meeting on Monday March 20 at 6:30pm at Town Hall Council Chambers, 2525 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach. The newly formed council will elect a Mayor and Vice-Mayor.

On March 20th, Rexann Hosafros will complete her 3-year term as a member of Town Council after being elected in 2014. She chose not to run for re-election this year.

The next Town Council election will be in March 2019 when two seats will be on the ballot, those currently held by Tracey Gore and Dennis Boback. Both are eligible to run for another term.

The Charter referendum to reinstate state revenue sharing won with 88.66% voting yes and 11.34% voting no.

Turnout was 40.13%. The Town had a total of 4,932 registered voters for this election; 1,979 of them submitted a ballot. 5,175 votes were cast for council candidates and 1,711 for the referendum question. Over half of voters chose to vote by mail in this election.

For information on voter registration or vote by mail for future elections, call 239 LEE-VOTE or go to lee.vote online.


Missy Layfield