Beach Kiwanis News


The Fort Myers Beach Kiwanis Club recently celebrated their 52nd anniversary at their annual installation dinner at Charley’s Boat House Grill. Officers for 2019-2020 include Sandy Lepley-President, Eric Tibbs-President-Elect, Roger Welton-Past President, Ed McCarthy-Treasurer and Paula McCarthy-Secretary.  Installed Board members included Rev. Ivan Corbin, Marge Bejune, Trinkey Jarrett, Tom Swanbeck, Jan Kitchen and Wayne Gibson. New members installed were Salle Komar, South Fort Myers High School Key Club Advisor and Dr. Tyler Spradling, DO, a former FMB Kiwanis Scholarship recipient who is completing his medical residency at Lee Health.

The Beach Kiwanis Club recently donated $5,000 to the Beach School for Library equipment and $3,000 to the Bay Oaks Pool for swimming lessons for kids.

On Saturday, December 28 at 8am Kiwanis will sponsor their annual Fun Run/Walk on the beach at Chapel Street. Sign-up starts at 7am. Adults – $10, Kids 16 and under – $5. Parking is at Chapel by the Sea.

Upcoming Kiwanis meetings are Friday, December 6 at noon, with guest speaker JoDee Hansen or ECHO Global Farm. On Thursday, December 19, at 5:30pm, the guest speakers include Debbie Voorhees and Kathy Klar of Friends of Lovers Key. Meetings are held at the Bonita Bill’s Café meeting room, 702 Fisherman’s Wharf, FMB. For more information, contact the FMB Kiwanis Thrift Shop at 239-454-8090.