Art Show Award Winners Named


Defying the Ordinary

On February 16, Fort Myers Beach Art Association and Gallery presented awards for their current show, Defying the Ordinary. Members of the art association submitted paintings for the exhibit which was juried and judged by artist Jane Slivka. The awards ceremony was preceded by a painting demonstration given by Joann Sanborn. Artwork in this exhibit is available for viewing and purchase until March 6, 2020.

First Prize (Lucy B Campbell Award) was presented to Diane Kuntz for Misty Morning. Sue Pink was awarded second for Loren Ipsun. Third prize went to Dannica Walker for Tulip Can Can.

Rainbow Canal” by Dorothy McDowell was awarded a Merit Award.

Merit Awards were presented to the following: Dorothy McDowell and Robert Mueller. Honorable Mention awards went to Milly Pereira and Nancy F. Morgan. The Special Awards were presented to Pam Flaherty (Lee Ackert Award) and Julie Nusbaum (The Florida Watercolor Society Award).

Studio 2 hosts a variety of exhibits. The Group from San Miguels Allende Tour will show their work until March 5. From March 7 – 19, JoAnn LaPadula will exhibit her solo show; opening reception is Sunday, March 8 from 2-5pm and is free and open to the public.

The FMBAA Gallery, located at Donora Blvd and Shell Mound Blvd is open Monday – Saturday from 10am – 3pm. Free admission. Visit for more information on the FMBAA and upcoming workshops. 239-463-3909.